Mac Tricks: Disable Gatekeeper, Add a Period Using Double-Space, iCloud Library Photo Deleting

Mac Tricks: Disable Gatekeeper, Add a Period Using Double-Space, iCloud Library Photo Deleting

13K 220K

How to Add a Period Using Double-Space in MacOS Sierra

iOS users are used to adding a period to the sentence ending by a double-click on spacebar. It adds a period that is followed by one space. In this case, you are able to start typing the next sentence. And you may be glad that this feature is present in MacOS Sierra too!

But the feature is turned off by default thanks to the typing conventions of OS X. So, if you are a user of Sierra, you can just turn it on and enjoy! Go to “System preferences”, choose “Keyboard” there and then click on “Text”.

The list of options will appear on the right. Check the box “Add period with double space” and click on it. Good news that you won’t have to reload your Mac or to wait until the changes will happen. Just reboot the apps to make them become applied.

It’s time to test the new feature on your MacOS now! Launch a text application. You can choose TextEdit or Notes. Type some words there and double-tap the spacebar after the final word is ended. A period should be added after it.

You’re welcome, dear iOS users!

Maybe some Mac users may ask a question “Why has Apple brought this feature from iOS to MacOS?”. Adding a period on mobile devices is easier by a double-clicking because they use small virtual keyboards. Those who work with Mac have a comfortable full-sized keyboard and they don’t face any problems with it. So, is this feature is really needed?

Yes! Apple sells more mobile devices based on iOS than Macs, so more customers are used to working with iPhones or iPads. The company tried to make all devices work in a similar way. So, if you are an active iOS user, it will be much more comfortable for you to use Mac when it has a familiar control.

But if you are a confident MacOS user and feel good with things going the old way, keep this option turned off. Avoid enabling it in case if you use other operating systems such as early versions on OS X, Windows, or Linux, cause you won’t get used to it due to muscle memory.

 

How to Allow Applications from Anywhere in Sierra or How to Disable Gatekeeper

First Gatekeeper was included in OS X Mountain Lion. It is a feature that protects user from potentially harmful software and it doesn’t allow opening of such programs. In MacOS Sierra this feature has more strength and it limits user’s powers a lot. Don’t be nervous if your Mac does not want to launch some new app. Gatekeper can be disabled and we will tell you how to do it!

As you know, Gatekeeper has three security settings: App Store, App Store and certain developers and apps from anywhere. The first one is the most secure and refuses to open all programs which were obtained not from App Store. The next one allows to launch software from App Store and programs of developers who are registered in Apple catalogue. The last one allows a user to launch any software he wants and source doesn’t matter at all.

The things were going this way in the previous versions of MacOS. But when one have installed Sierra, he could notice that the “Anywhere” setting is gone now. Only “App Store and identified developers” and “App Store” are left in this new OS. Nevertheless, don’t make a big problem from this issue.


Let’s disable Gatekeeper to be able to download files from anywhere!

Settings can be found in “System preferences”. Go to the “Security and Privacy” tab and choose “General” there. Options of Gatekeeper can be found near “All apps downloaded from”. Of course, you won’t find the “Anywhere” option there.

Fortunately, we can fix it via a Terminal command. Quit the window of system preferences and launch the Terminal. Enter this command: “sudo spctl --master-disable” and your password if it’s needed.

Now launch “System preferences” again and go to the settings of Gatekeeper. See the “Anywhere” option restored? Nice! Click the padlock icon in the left corner, then enter the admin password to save the changes and select the necessary option.

Since this time Gatekeeper won’t bother you anymore. Install any applications you won’t, even those made by identified developers.


Temporary Gatekeeper bypass

Of course, Gatekeeper has lots of limitation, but its proper work has a paramount importance in the system’s work. It can prevent a user from downloading and installing of harmful malicious apps. If you want to keep your Gatekeeper turned off, but still plan to launch some software from an unknown to Apple developer, bypass the security feature temporarily. Open the application from the context menu (with the right-click).

Let’s look deeper. When you are launching a program from an unknown developer, Gatekeeper will tell you this phrase:

To turn it off temporarily, control-click (or right-click) on the application’s icon and open it.

You will read an alert message on your screen, but it’s now a deny, it’s only a warning.  Click “Open” once more and the app will be launched finally.


How to restore the Gatekeeper’s preferences as they were before?

If you have already changed the option to “Anywhere” via Terminal and want to restore the default settings, go back to Terminal and run this command: “sudo spctl --master-enable”. Done!

That’s how to manage your MacOS Sierra security. Hope, this article was useful for new Mac users!

 

Will be your Photos Deleted from Everywhere if you Delete Them from iCloud Library?

Maybe Apple didn’t explain to people how iCloud Photo Library works or someone just can’t understand it. But people often ask questions like “Will the photos deleted on iPhone be removed from iCloud Photo Library?”.

Let’s be clear: if you are going to delete a photo with iCloud library enabled, it will be removed from everywhere, even if you turned on full-resolution downloads with MacOS Photos.

The point is that iCloud Library is both sync and storage conduit. So, photos in both OS X and iOS can be used as a preview or full-resolution backup of the whole library. These parameters may seem a bit confusing.

While using Google Photos, the fact that they are stored in Google’s cloud is clear to everybody. So, the application works just as a viewing portal into that storage. And it’s no matter if that images are temporarily stored in an iOS device or not. You have no need to think if these images are permanently on your device. As for Mac, you view images via Web browser. If you delete an image from it or iOS, it will be removed from the central repository. You will even receive a warning message about this.

But the thing go differently with iCloud Photo Library, as Photos application is an endpoint in iOS and OS X. Every photo taken by your iOS device will be automatically copied to iCloud and synchronized to other Apple devices.

You can optimize sharing for iOS and MacOS and make them to show videos or images only, or store a copy of the original file as full-resolution file. In this optimized mode, you will make your iCloud to work as other portals, like Google Photos. This mode allows the file downloading only in case you want to view or modify it. In full-res mode you will have a high-quality copy on your devices and it doesn’t map to a cloud storage.

People who ask about how iCloud Photo Library works, don’t want to find a way to delete the media forever, they just want to reduce its size or not to show the certain image somewhere. It’s a pity, but Apple doesn’t offer us to cache images or albums with high-resolution photos, so you can’t flush images from cache to reduce your temporary storage. All these things are done automatically. You have a choice between only optimized and full-resolution images.


If you want to choose optimized, you should:

  • Go to ‘Settings’, choose ‘iCloud’ there and click on ‘Photos’. Tap ‘Optimize storage’.
  • If you use MacOS, open ‘Photos' and choose ‘iCloud’ there. Select the ‘Optimize Mac Storage’ option.


If you don’t your images to show up anywhere else, just hide them!

  • In MacOS, select an image, tap Command-L or go to ‘Image’ and then ‘Hide X photos’.
  • As for iOS, select an image or a set of them, tap ‘Share button’ and choose ‘Hide’ then.

Anyway, if you don’t want to get rid of some photo, please don’t delete it either from iCloud Library, or from your Apple devices.