Mac Tricks: Automatic Drives Unmounting, Re-Synchronize iCloud Photo on Mac

Mac Tricks: Automatic Drives Unmounting, Re-Synchronize iCloud Photo on Mac

12K 210K

Let’s deal with an automatic drives unmounting after closing a Mac lid

Many people wonder if they can avoid the situation when the drives unmount after closing the top. Though the problem isn’t big at all, many Mac users would be happy to work without remounting and rejecting.

Unfortunately, Apple didn’t build in a version of this. But there is an useful app called “Jettison”. It costs %5 only and was released by St. Clair Software. This application prevents your Mac from beginning of the sleeping mode until the drives are unmounted. Disconnect them after the moment your Mac has entered the sleeping mode. The application cal also remount your drives when the Mac is waking up.

 

How to find out if you have not enough storage to re-synchronize iCloud Photo library

Mac users could face a problem when pictures from iCloud could not be got to the Mac due to lack of disk space. Many people enable the setting called “Optimize Mac Storage“ to free some space and to download the necessary photo and use iCloud photo library on the Mac. But the issue is that the picture in already on the Mac!

Yes, yes. It really happens, as MacOS and iCloud are not synchronized very well. That’s why the system says that there is not enough of disk space even if you have 100 GB of it. If your library is about 100 GB, it is already stored in iCloud.

A user has to upgrade the storage and then to downgrade it to compare photos in iCloud and on the device.

What is the matter? Apple just don’t want to start a process which will fail. So, users can see an error message when they want to download the same amount of data. And you won’t be able to do something, because the device thinks that it’s already synchronized to iCloud. That’s why it can’t compared downloaded content and pictures that are still in iCloud, so Apple asks us to download everything all the time. It doesn’t compare these thousands of items.

Two scenarios can be helpful is you’ve faced such an issue too:

  • Move all the files from your disk to an external drive to empty the space that iCloud needs. Sync them one at a time and get your images. After the Mac and iCloud will be synced, turn back to the “full-resolution” option.
  • Copy the whole library to some external drive and set is as a primary library. After you have done this, enable iCloud library and sync them. After this copy them back to your main drive.

Still, we can’t give you any guarantees that these ways will work.

We can suppose that Apple can download imager afresh instead of telling us that they are synced. For example, this system reuploaded 115GB of the same data. The process of downloading may be too long in this case and it makes the things go worse.

So, we hope that Apple will fix this problem soon.

 

Do you need to free the disk space used by iMovie videos?

Any Mac user can notice that iMovie folder weights more than other folders. But can we get rid of all these data if we don’t need it? It’s a nice question! The cause is that things are not always so obvious. In fact, there are three iMovies folders in the directory. Some of them are even were created many years back!

  • If you use an old version of iMovie, you’ll find “Projects”, “Events” and “Sharing” folders with relevant files there. If you work with iMovie 10 and are not going to get back to some old versions, feel free to delete “Projects” and “Events” folders. Check “Sharing” to make sure nothing necessary isn’t left there.
  • “Projects” have a special icon. Some of them are from 2004, can you imagine? This folder saved everything that is associated with your iMovie projects. Delete them if you don’t need the old projects, because they usually contain tons of megabytes and just eat the free disk space. Note that if you still use old versions of this software, you’ll be able to upgrade your old projects by opening them in the next version or the last one.
  • iMovie Library. The 10th version saves all data to a monolithic library file in a pkg file. You should use the iMovie app to find what you can keep and what you can delete. There is another way to do it either. Right-click the file, then go to “View Package Contents” and Mac will show you what is there.

There can also be the “Original Movies” folder with high-resolution videos of some iMovie projects. Be careful with its deleting, as it may be the only copies of those videoclips. Feel free to remove duplicates and unnecessary videos.

Finally, you’ll save megabytes and even gigabytes by cleaning these folders!

 

Using Siri to managing the Notification Center in Sierra

Haven’t you played with Siri in the new version of MacOS Sierra yet? Than you should really check it out. We have already told you how helpful Siri is and how can you use her in the everyday work. Hope, you saw all that tricks and liked them a lot. The other awesome feature of Apple’s personal voice assistant is adding widgets to Notification center. They give a user an opportunity to get answers to frequent questions without asking Siri every time you plan to update.

That’s how it works. At first you have to launch Siri from the Dock or via the Menu bar.

Now Siri starts listening. You can work with her just like on iPhone or iPad.  Search for something in the Web, change settings of your Mac, find some interesting info or weather forecast, and so on. But if something you ask very often can be saved like a widget in Notification center, just ask Siri to do it. Click on a small ‘+’ button when she answers.

Click on it and a new widget will be created. After this, every time you go to Notification center (3-lined icon at the right top corner of your screen), you will see this new personal widget.

Note, that it works not with all Siri’s queries. It’s a feature for data-driven questions. They may change after some time. In the majority of situations they are forecasts, quotes, news alerts or something like that.

Of course, you can not only add these widgets with the help of Siri, you can remove them too. Just do the same as you did when saving it to Notification center. But instead ‘+’ button there will be ‘x’ button.

Done! Check out other Siri’s preferences to configuring your personal MacOS assistant.